My Normal Life

1 in 5 Begin Online

Why hello Miss Crocket, Miss Patricia Crocket. It has been a long time since I have even visited EHarmony. I never felt a need to tell you that you have failed me. Don’t worry, you’re not the only one of my dating sites I feel that has. But I just wanted to ask: why do you feel so trusted? Four years ago is when I know that I was a paying member. If I can think back that far, if I was with you guys three times, if I’m correct. This would mean I had begun my hunt for my love in December of 2009, when I was 25. Five years later I still sit here alone.

You claim that you are able to marry 438 people every day, on average. Your commercials also claim that you are the “…trusted #1 online dating site.” Those would be false. The number one site is actually Match.com, according to THREE different dating advice sites. I had no success with them either, though, but that’s another tale.
I only wonder where you think I put my heart every night. Do you think I really smile at the sun every day? I am not as bright a ray as I used to be. For sitting alone these long days and nights can bring ones sorrows down more and more. I just wonder why you think you can hold your head so high when I have no person to wrap my arms around after I had gone on a heartbreaking hunt.

And then there is you, Mr. George Bartlett, bringing me to January 30, 2011; I made my first attempt to show wd3368 that I was interested in him. I did receive a reply. Nothing happened from there. No date. Just a few emails, if I can even remember three years ago. I have kept a record of all of my attempts on your site, only so I didn’t make it seem like I was bothering the same guy.

I was only wanting a three month trial. I had wanted to because at that time, January 2011, I still had not been in a relationship. I had given my attempt at Eharmony prior to this and had no success, so I figured I would give you a try. Three years later, I still resigned with Match every three months and I think I had gone on, if I recall….two dates. I will not deny that I did briefly meet two guys on here and dated them for a short period (very short.) But after three years and 797 signs of interest sent, I still sit home alone on my Fridays. My heart gets broken more every time I see your commercials promoting how you have “…1 in 5 relationships begin online…”, and you“…lead to more dates, more relationships, and more marriages….” Okay; well where is mine after these three years?

I am not the type that wants to give up in this area, but my heart cannot give much more. I have now moved onto my THIRD dating site. I have been with you for three years, I have attended many of your events, yet I am still that one in the five that sits at home alone.

So, thank you, MatchHarmony, for helping this world continue to break my heart every day.

Tell me you love me

